The Manawatu Racing Club is pleased to once again host the popular Manawatu Punter of The Year.
This year will be another great day of Premier racing including the Group 3 $100,000 Hotel Coachman Manawatu Cup and Group 2 $100,000 Kamada Park Manawatu Challenge Stakes. The competition is a great opportunity for not only the knowledgeable punter but also a great day to put together a team from work, social club members or friends to take out and become the 2017 MANAWATU PUNTER OF THE YEAR and ensure a great start to your Christmas celebrations.
Put your punting skills up against the opposition and gain the highest return from betting on eight races to be crowned the 2017 MANAWATU PUNTER OF THE YEAR. With the day being eight races contestants are required to have a betting fund of $720 ($90 per race minimum) plus $80 entry fee (covering one or two persons) additional persons $80 per head.
The event will be located in the Eulogy Lounge and contestants will receive: 
    • Buffet luncheon 
    • Vouchers for eight standard beer, single spirit or house wine. A subsidised bar will be available if required. 
    • Complimentary food after the last race 
    • MC for the day will be the knowledgable Andrew Lacy who will be conducting interviews during the day with prominent trainers, jockeys and personalities, as well as offering expert advice. 
Enclosed are the rules and entry form.(or rules and on-line entry below)
Apart from keeping your winnings there is the chance for the following-

First prize (highest balance):

Free entry to the Hawkes Bay Punter Of The Year and the $1,500 betting fund as well as a $1,000 cash.

Second prize: 

$1,000 (cash),

Third prize:

$500 (cash).

Leading teams after race3 and race 6

$250 (cash)

Plus spot prizes during the day.

We are restricted to the first 110 teams, so don’t hesitate and get your entry in as soon as possible.
We look forward to providing you a great day out and best of luck!



1.         All contestants must be registered by 5pm Friday, 22 December to be included.  Entries will only be accepted on “first come basis”.

2.         Name of contestants to be disclosed - although a Pseudonym (nom de plume) may be used for publicity purposes. 

3.         $720 being the betting fund together with $80 entry fee is to be paid to the Club prior to raceday or in cash, on the morning of the race meeting.  No cheques will be accepted, except with the prior approval of the Secretary of the Manawatu Racing Club. 

4.         Minimum of $90 to be invested on each race commencing with race one.  There is no maximum. There are no fixed odds bets permitted in the competition. 

5.         If contestant runs out of funds, no additional funds can be added. 

6.         If the balance is less than $90, the entire amount shall be invested.

7.         All-Up betting is permitted.  However, after the initial investment a minimum of $90 (or if your balance is less than $90) must continue to be invested on each of the following races independent of any all-up bet carrying over.  Where a punter has no funds available, but has a “live” all-up bet in place the contestant will not be excluded from the competition.  When their all-up dividend is declared the contestant must resume investing a minimum of $90 on the remaining races if sufficient funds are available then. 

8.         All bets to be placed on the Manawatu Racing Club’s race meeting. 

  1. Pick Six – Please note that Pick 6 betting cannot be included in Punter Of Year competition because it is not part of the Club’s oncourse betting pool. 
  1. Fixed Odds – there is no fixed odds betting permitted 
  1. Place 6/Triple Trio – you are not permitted to have a Place 6 bet or Triple Trio 

12.       The designated person must be in a queue no later than eight minutes prior to the starting time of each race to ensure bets are placed.  Entrants must bet on every race. 

13.       In the event of an inquiry, which is not resolved prior to five minutes before the start of the following race, any contestant who has funds to reinvest on that race due to the inquiry, shall not be disqualified but shall resume investing on the race after the inquiry is complete. 

14.       No Club official (officiating in the room on the day) shall be able to enter. 

15.       The winner shall be the contestant with the highest balance after the dividends are declared for the last race and have been added to the contestants’ deposit ticket. 

16.       The individual balance and payout of amounts earned will be available as soon as possible after the last race at Awapuni “All Clear” but the winners name (or nom de plume) and presentation will be announced later. 

17.       In the event of a tie, the winner shall be drawn by lot under the supervision of the Racecourse Inspector. 

18.       If for any reason, the race meeting is postponed or cancelled after race 4, the person who has the highest balance at the time the meeting is stopped on this day, shall be determined the winner. 

19.       Entry to the Punter Competition “Arena” will be restricted to two persons per entry, but up to three additional entries to the arena may be purchased for $80 each. Eight Standard Beers, Wine, Single Spirit and Juice vouchers will be provided to each entrant to use throughout the day in the room closing after the last race. A surcharge of $2.00 will exist for a premium beer when using a voucher. A buffet luncheon will also be provided. 

20.       Maximum number of entries is 110. 

21.       The Club reserved the right to cancel the competition if less than 15 entries are received. 

22.       All contestants will be given their deposit tickets at the commencement of the day in the Punters Competition Room. 

23.       Competitors deposit tickets are individually coded and must be presented to the tote operator before any bets are entered. 

24.       Contestants must check their betting tickets after each bet. 

25.       A Steward will keep a running tally of each contestant’s pool.  Progressive totals will be made available. 

26.       The winner will be announced as soon as possible after the declaration of the last race. 


A TAB trace will ensure that each contestant has abided by these Rules.

You must present your deposit ticket to the operator before any bets are entered.

You can only bet after the “Betting Open” announcement has been made for each race.

You must bet a minimum of $90 on each race.

You must check your ticket.

You must retain your deposit ticket at all times.

On-line enry form

Manawatu Racing Club PUNTER OF THE YEAR Competition
Awapuni Racecourse, 23 December 2017
By submitting this entry, I agree that have read the conditions of entry and agree to abide by those rules:-
One or two persons $ 80.00
Additional Entry Fee (extra persons at $80)
Betting Fund $720.00
All entries must be received by no later than 5pm Friday, 22 December
The betting fund together with entry fee is to be paid to the Club prior to raceday or in cash, on the morning of the race meeting. No cheques will be accepted, except with the prior approval of the Secretary of the Manawatu Racing Club
Any additional comments that may assist your entry
To reduce spam we have included a "captcha" device
Please enter the letters/numbers above exactly as you see them. Uppercase and Lowercase are important.